REPORT OF THE

Chief Executive

PART I

1. HONORARY ALDERMAN

- 1.1 By virtue of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 ("the 1972 Act") the title of Honorary Alderman can be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members present and voting at a meeting of the Council especially convened for that purpose, on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of the County Council. The title of Honorary Alderman cannot be conferred on an existing Member of the Council.
- 1.2 At the meeting of the County Council on 20 July 2017 the Leader of the Council, proposed conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on former County Councillors Keith Chapman MBE, Alan Rice TD, Ken Thornber CBE and Sharyn Wheale for the titles to be conveyed at a future meeting of the Council.

1.3 Keith Chapman MBE

Keith Chapman was first elected to the County Council in 2001 for Calleva and Kingsclere Division. He was Executive Member for Culture and Recreation in the Cabinet from 2011 to 2015. Formerly, he served on the Recreation and Heritage Policy Review Committee, later the Culture and Communities Select Committee, which he chaired from 2007 to 2009. From 2009 to 2011, he was Chairman of the Policy and Resources Select Committee. Additionally, he contributed to the Education, Social Care and Health Review Committees, Youth Service Panel, the Basingstoke and Deane County Highway Management Panel and Hampshire Action Team, and the Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee. He served on Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority from 2001 to 2016 becoming Vice Chairman from 2013 to 2016.

Keith represented the County Council on numerous outside bodies including Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Local Authority Forum, The Anvil Trust, Proteus Theatre Company, Hampshire Museums and Galleries Trust, Silchester Roman Town Joint Advisory Panel, Basingstoke Canal and Manydown Joint Committees, Ashford Hill and Stratfield Saye Educational Trusts, Basingstoke Road Safety Council and the Southern, Thames and Wessex Regional Flood and Coastal Committees.

Keith concluded his final years of service, 2015 to 2017, as Vice Chairman and then Chairman of the County Council, and was made Patron of the Hampshire Music Service in recognition of his dedication to the Arts.

1.4 Alan Rice TD

Alan Rice served 44 years on the County Council being elected in 1973 representing Milford, Hordle and later New Milton North Division. He was Vice Chairman and then Chairman of the County Council from 1999 to 2002.

For 44 years Alan served on the Recreation Committee, later the Culture and Communities Select Committee, serving as Vice-Chairman and Chairman. He was involved with the River Hamble Harbour Management from 1975 until 2017. He served on numerous Committees and Panels, becoming Vice-Chairman or Chairman on many; including Planning and Transportation, Policy and Resources and Standards Committees, Lepe Country Park Management Committee, Lymington Coastal Area and Basingstoke Joint Management Committees, Martin Down Management Advisory Committee, the Rights of Way, New Forest Highway Strategy and Museums Panels and Andover and Havant Museum Committee.

For more than 38 years Alan represented the County Council at the Red House Museum and, for over 40 years, the Southern Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority. Amongst the many other outside bodies he was involved with were the Reserve Forces and Cadets Association, Chichester Harbour Conservancy, Winchester Excavations Committee, Forest Arts Centre, South Eastern Museums Service, Hampshire and Isle of Wight Local Government Association, Wessex Archaeology Committee, Gosport Museum Committee, Aldershot Military Museums Trust, Hampshire Playing Fields Association, Fort Nelson, Winchester Live Theatre, New Forest Road Safety Council, Tourism South East, New Forest National Park Authority, several School Governing Bodies and Lymington – Keyhaven Coastal Marshes and the Verderers Court of the New Forest.

Alan concluded his service as a County Councillor in May 2017.

1.5 Ken Thornber CBE

Ken Thornber served on Hampshire County Council for 40 years, being first elected in 1977 for Hythe, then in 1981 for Dibden and Hythe, and from 1989 for Brockenhurst Division. He was Leader of the County Council from 1999 to 2013 and Chairman in 2013/14.

In his 40 years Ken served on every mainline committee of the County Council with the exception of Planning and Transportation. He served on many panels and sub-committees and he chaired the Pension Fund Panel, the Buildings, Land and Procurement Panel and the Personnel Sub-Committee among others. He was also Vice-Chairman of the Police Authority of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

Ken represented the County Council on numerous outside bodies, including the County Councils Network which he chaired, Hampshire and Isle of Wight Local Government Association, Hampshire Gardens Trust, the Local Government Association in which he served as Chairman of the Resources Committee, Sir Harold Hillier Gardens and Arboretum Trust Board of which he was sole Trustee, South East England Regional Assembly and the New Forest National Park Authority.

Ken concluded his service as a County Councillor in May 2017.

1.6 Sharyn Wheale

Sharyn Wheale was first elected to the County Council in 2005 representing the Fleet division, serving for 12 years until May 2017.

Sharyn served on the Regulatory Committee from 2005 to 2017. From 2005 to 2009 she was on the Children's Services Policy Review Committee which became the Children and Young People Select Committee. Between 2007 and 2017 she was a member of the Environment and Transportation Select Committee, which became the Economy, Transport and Environment Select Committee being Chairman from 2009. She also sat on the Policy and Resources Select Committee from 2009 until 2017. Other panels she was involved with included the Special Education Needs Panel, Hart County Highway Management and Transport Advisory Panel, the Education Advisory Panel and both Rushmoor and Hart Hampshire Action Teams.

Outside bodies on which Sharyn represented the County Council included the Northern Hampshire Road Safety Council of which she was Chairman, the Public Transport Consortium, Queen Elizabeth II Barracks Transport Contributions Steering Group, Connexions (Hart Advisory Forum) and as a deputy on the Wessex, Southern and Thames Regional Flood and Coastal Committees.

RECOMMENDATION

That the County Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former County Councillors Keith Chapman MBE, Alan Rice TD, Ken Thornber CBE and Sharyn Wheale.